BC Sports Hall of Fame

December 08 2016

Mark Wyatt - BC Hall of Fame 2017

Mark Wyatt Inducted into BC Sports Hall of Fame

posted Dec 8 2016
[ed. comments below]

It's all a matter of perspective, the Daily Hive ran with the headline "Geroy Simon, Mark Recchi headline BC Sports Hall of Fame class of 2017". From a rugby perspective it's Geroy Who? The mainstream media will run with the professional athletes all the time, Geroy Simon and Mark Recchi falling into that category. From a rugby perspective Mark Wyatt headlines the 2017 inductees. There are five athletes, Simon and Recchi plus Roland Green (cycling), Michelle Stilwell (wheelchair athletics/wheelchair basketball) and, of course, Mark Wyatt.

Tim Frick (wheelchair basketball), Frank Smith (football), as well as George and Dianne Tidball (equestrian), will be inducted in the coach/builder category.

Chang Keun Choi (taekwon-do) will be inducted in the pioneer category, while David Sidoo (football), will receive the WAC Bennett Award.

The 1969-70 UBC Thunderettes (women’s basketball) will be inducted in the team category.

The 51st induction class will be formally inducted on April 12, 2017 at the annual Banquet of Champions at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

Mark Wyatt is currently the President of the Westshore rugby club, previously Velox, where Mark played his club rugby. He won 29 caps for Canada and was captain of the 1991 side that reached the World Cup quarter-finals. A feat never duplicated by a Canadian men's team.

Mark was renowned for his kicking skills and kicked 56 penalties in his 9 year international career. Added to the 4 drop goals, 2 tries and 23 coversions it gave him a total of 234 points in international play - 25 in two World Cups (87-91).

Other members of that 1991 World Cup squad included:

Head Coach: Ian Birtwell

Eddie Evans
Dan Jackart
David Speirs
Karl Svoboda
Paul Szabo
Norm Hadley
John Robertsen
Ron van den Brink
Bruce Breen
Al Charron
Glen Ennis
Gord MacKinnon
John Graf
Chris Tynan
Gareth Rees
Dave Lougheed
John Lecky
Tom Woods
Christian Stewart
Steve Gray
Pat Palmer
Scott Stewart
Mark Wyatt (captain)
Roy Radu
Gary Dukelow

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports