Canada Women at Rugby League World Cup

November 27 2017

Natasha Smith - Canada Ravens rugby league team

Canadian Women Finish 3rd/4th in Their First Rugby League World Cup

There were some blowout scores and there's no doubt that New Zealand and Australia are miles beyond anyone else in the women's game on the planet. It's a shame there isn't a 3rd/4th playoff match between England and Canada to determine 3rd. It would have been close as England lost to NZ 52-4, a similar score to Australia 58-Canada 6 in the semis. Australia are slightly stronger and should be favoured to win the final at home. NZ won the first 3 world titles, Australia won the next and are defending champions.

Canada and USA are co-hosting the 2025 World Cup and 2021 will be in England.

Canada lost to NZ and Australia in the pool round, tough games, and defeated Papua New Guinea in their other pool match. In their 88-0 loss to Australia coach Mike Castle rested a few key players, including Natasha Smith. They returned for the semi-final and the score was a little closer. Smith scored 4 of the 6 tries Canada registered in the tournament and is one to watch in both League and Union moving forward.

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports