Commonwealth Games 2018 - Women

April 14 2018


Commonwealth Games 2018 - Women
©

Canada End Medal Run With Two Losses to Complete Tournament in Fourth Place


Canada came fourth at the tournament, a drop from their 3rd place seeding in the World Series and at the upcoming World Cup. They had no problem getting through the weaker teams but were outmatched when they hit the top two, NZ and Australia.

They lost to NZ in their final pool match, then were dominated by Australia 33-7 before facing England in the Bronze match. Canada continued their poor form into that match going down 19-5 at the half. They mounted a second half comeback when the subs came in and were one pass away from tying the match up but lost 24-19.

The team now head to Kitakyushu, Japan for this weekend's tournament. They have a tough pool with Russia, England and Fiji.



Canada in Medal Hunt - Face Australia in Semi-Finals


Canada lost to NZ 24-7 in their final pool match which means they'll face Pool B winners Australia in the semi-finals. Australia narrowly got by Fiji 17-10. England will face off against NZ in the other semi-final.

The Canada v Australia match is on at 17:59 today.



Canada Defeat South Africa 29-0 in First Match, Kenya in Second Match 24-12: VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS


Canada scored four tries in the first half against South Africa and one in the second half to run out comfortable 29-0 winners in their first match.

South Africa started nervously and Canada jumped on them with smothering defence. South Africa didn't get out of their own half and Canada turned turnovers into points.

After the subs came on in the second half Canada lost their shape and weren't able to duplicate their first half effort.

Caroline Crossley goes down in the history books as the first woman to score a try in the Commonwealth Games rugby 7s competition.



Canada then defeated Kenya 24-12 to set up a winner take all match for top of the pool against NZ later today at 7:49pm.



Canadian Women Start Tonight 11:31pm PT vs South Africa


The Canadian women seeded 3rd in the upcoming Rugby World Cup 7s in San Francisco take on the 13th seeded South Africans. Canada go in as heavy favourites, oddsmakers have Canada at 1.01 and South Africa at 13.88. That match is at 11:31pm PT.

Next up at 2:11am PT Canada take on Kenya who are not in the RWC 7s but did beat South Africa recently in the World Series Qualifying event and can't be taken lightly.

Then tomorrow the big game, Canada v #1 seeded New Zealand, that's on 7:49pm PT Friday.

It looks like the top two teams from Pool A and B go through to the medal round. It will likely be NZ and Canada from Pool A and Australia and England/Fiji from Pool B. Finishing top of the pool would avoid Australia who are likely to win Pool B.

The men start at 5:15pm on Friday vs Kenya.

Canada’s women's roster for Commonwealth Games:

Olivia Apps – Aurora Barbarians (Lindsay, ON)
Brittany Benn – Guelph Redcoats (Napanee, ON)
Caroline Crossley – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Hannah Darling – Peterborough Pagans (Warsaw, ON)
Bianca Farella – Town of Mont Royal RFC (Montreal, QC)
Julia Greenshields – Sarnia Saints (Sarnia, ON)
Sara Kaljuvee – Toronto Scottish (Ajax, ON)
Ghislaine Landry – Captain, Toronto Scottish (Toronto, ON)
Megan Lukan – Unattached (Barrie, ON)
Kayla Moleschi – Williams Lake Rustlers (Williams Lake, BC)
Breanne Nicholas – London St. Georges RFC (Blenheim, ON)
Natasha Watcham-Roy – Hull Volant (Gatineau, QC)
Charity Williams – Markham Irish (Toronto, ON)

Men's Schedule:
Canada vs. Kenya at 8:15pm ET/5:15pm PT (April 13)
Canada vs. Zambia at 11:55pm ET/8:55pm PT (April 13)
Canada vs. New Zealand at 6:49am ET/3:49am PT (April 14)

Women's Schedule:
Canada vs. South Africa at 2:31am ET (April 13)/11:31pm PT (April 12)
Canada vs. Kenya at 5:11am ET/2:11am PT (April 13)
Canada vs. New Zealand at 10:49pm ET/7:49pm PT (April 13)

The entire tournament will be streamed LIVE on DAZN Canada.
https://watch.dazn.com/en-CA/sports/

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports